The Auxiliary Board is a non-profit organization of Chicago’s young professionals who are dedicated to raising funds for Northwestern Memorial Hospital. Since becoming affiliated with the hospital in 1987, The Auxiliary Board has committed more than $2,000,000 to enhance treatment for Northwestern Memorial’s patients and their families through a host of patient care initiatives.

Northwestern Memorial ranks 11th in the nation in the U.S. News & World Report 2015-16 Honor Roll of America’s Best Hospitals. The hospital is also recognized in 13 of 16 clinical specialties rated by U.S. News and rated No. 1 in Illinois and Chicago in the 2015-16 state and metro rankings.

Our Cause

The Auxiliary Board has pledged its support to a novel research study of type 1 diabetes, led by Jing Jin, MD, PhD in the Division of Nephrology/Hypertension at Northwestern Memorial Hospital and Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine.

Often diagnosed in children and young adults, patients afflicted with type 1 diabetes (T1D) need lifelong treatment with insulin and are prone to debilitating and life-threatening complications, including heart disease, stroke and kidney malfunction. T1D is classified as an autoimmune disorder, which occurs when the immune system fails to recognize certain cells of the body as “self” and goes on the attack.

Aiming to improve the understanding of autoimmunity in T1D, Dr. Jin’s team discovered in diabetic mouse models that insulin does sometimes undergo a chemical mutation that causes it to be attacked. His team’s hypothesis is that, when present, attacking antibodies may serve as diagnostic markers and therapeutic targets for humans with T1D. The marker (test) developed in Dr. Jin’s study will be the first of its kind to aid in T1D diagnosis and risk assessment.

Learn More

The Auxiliary Board of Northwestern Memorial
Hospital for 2016-2017:

Executive Committee Board Members
Valentina Vulcu

Elizabeth Lubbers
Executive Vice President

Rachel Sass

Ken McKee

Jessica Perez
Vice President, Philanthropy

Meg Chrisman
Vice President, Summer Lovin’

Scott McIntosh
Vice President, Membership

Scott Kennedy
Vice President, Nominating

Kyle Brown
Vice President, Program Selection

Louise Arnott
Vice President, Marketing &
Public Relations

Eric Uebelhor
Vice President, Procurement Chair

Mary Pircon
Vice President, New Members

Jessica Armburst
Vice President, Silent Auction &

Ashley Allen

Anusha Balaji

Kevin Coffey

Ford Culver

Jack Danilkowicz

Allie Duncan

Kyler Ferguson

Jessica Fricke

Marcy Fridman

Jared Fruland

Greg Fuhrmeister

Doug Golan

Elana Harris

Ashley Hayes

Benjamin Herman

Kayla Hogan

Gina Kaczanowski

Brian Levy

Meredith Maienza

Michelle McCloskey

Megan Ogorzalek

Jarvie Peyser

Melissa Power

Patrick Reinke

Andrew Sfreddo

Nicole Sugiyama

Patrick Teets

Nick Theisinger

Joan Vor Broker

Gil Villavicencio


Legacy Members
Ryan Aprill

Dan Huml

Rick Goddard

Ed Egawa

Jamie Teets

Nella DiSanto

Amanda Crivlare

Stephanie Linder

Kelsey Scheive